The Art of Compering

I stepped into the world of professional compering during my 8th grade. I learned the art of compering from experiences and not from books. Each platform was an opportunity to improve. I was once a person who did not know to carry on with a conversation. Believe it or not, I was not good with speaking skills and mostly ended up mumbling and stammering. Today, my friends won’t believe me, if I told them, I was one of those silly heads who could not speak properly! My parents had faith in me, even during those circumstances when I myself did not believe in my abilities. My father took me stage to stage and forced me to perform, sing, dance, speak and act. My parents motivated me so much and made me believe that I was good. I have had few embarrassing situations in a few stages (like my vocal chords going on a strike, just when I was in front of the mike to sing. The paper I held for reference flew off just when I was half way through my singing. You could imagine what happened later). It is indeed surprising, when I look back at my life, to realise that I now have compered more than 800 shows and have addressed 2000 – 20,000 people for each show!


A presentable compering is the following, mixed in the right proportion.
a) Good Command Over Language – The higher the number of languages you know the better the show you put up. It is not necessary to use all languages all the time. A good compere chose what and how to speak, on the basis of the response of the audience. A compere or an anchor expects the audience to reflect his mood. To some extend we should veer our show on the basis of the audience’s mood as well. Rather than the use of the varied languages, a good speaker should know to speak the particular language with the proper accent. I have seen many speaking Malayalam, with a tinge of English Accent. Why fake? Be yourself!
b) Eye Contact – A presenter connects with the audience not just with words, but with the eyes as well. Eyes speak what the words can’t. We should be careful as to not look at the same spot or the same person when we deliver. Maintain your eye contact when you deliver your speech and try not to look on the paper you are holding all the time. We don’t want to come across as a nervous creature!
 
c) Smile – All the time. It will make not just the compere, but also the audience comfortable. Smile from within. Do not put up an artificial smile. A genuine smile flows only when you enjoy what you do.
 
d) Spontaneity & Humour – Program Chart or Event Flow could change even at the last moment. Things could go wrong any time. It is your spontaneous decisions, comments and wit that could save the day. Believe it or not, whatever goes wrong, the compere holds the power to win back the audience. I say it with utmost confidence because I myself have done it and have seen many other amazing comperes do it. Likewise, a compere could also be held responsible for the failure of an event.
 
e) Alertness – An expert does not only the job he/she is assigned to, but goes beyond his assigned task to attain customer delight. Likewise, a compere does not just the announcing of the next performer but should try to add his or her flavour to the event to bring charisma to the show. We could start by ‘Listening’; to the speakers, comments etc and try adding relevant comments to it. This element cannot be taught by or learnt from somebody else. It is purely on the basis of how you set your benchmark.
You create demand in the market, by portraying how unique and good you are. One thumb rule I would state is ‘Do Not Imitate’. The audience are experts in recognising fake delivery, fake smile and fake personality. So Be ‘You’! Believe In Yourself! 

One thought on “The Art of Compering”

Leave a comment